Image representing Retweet.com as depicted in ...
Image via CrunchBase

Whether you are just starting out on Twitter or have been using Twitter for awhile, you are probably aware that “re-tweeting” on Twitter is not only a common action but it’s a desirable one as it means others have found your messages to be worth passing on to their followers and helps to raise your overall visibility. A good majority of Twitter users are probably still using the primary form of retweeting by putting RT and the user’s name in front of the retweet (i.e. RT @mashable). This form of re-tweeting is also common if you are using one of the many Twitter applications for tweeting and managing your Twitter account instead of Twitter’s web application. However, late last year Twitter implemented their own form of retweeting that is unique to the web application and can appear very differently in your Twitter timeline than a regular RT or might not appear at all if you are using a third party Twitter application like Hootsuite or Tweetdeck.

If you are like most people who use Twitter, one of the first things you will check when logging in will be to see if anyone @ replied to you or retweeted any of your tweets. However, if you just check the @ mentions, then you may be missing some of the retweets that were done using the Retweet feature on the Twitter web application. From the Twitter web application, you have the option to “Reply” or “ReTweet” next to each tweet in your timeline. These retweets will show up as a tweet from the original person who tweeted it with a small notation underneath that it was retweeted by you. There are some nuances to this retweet feature that can be easily missed or overlooked. This video will go over how the retweet feature works from the Twitter web application and some things to keep in mind when using this feature.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Leave a Reply